Herb Garden

Posted On February 27, 2009

Filed under Wedding Themes, Weddings

Comments Dropped 7 responses

This is basically a Thank You letter to This Young House, for this post. So I’ll just start out by saying THANK YOU!

A month or so ago I found an article in a Wedding Magazine (and if I could remember said Wedding Magazine and article I would tell you, but I can’t remember for the life of me) where the Bride and Groom at herb themed tables and favors. I fell in love with this idea because it was finally at favor FH and I could do that fit with our venue and our life. We love to cook and we want to start an herb garden after we’re married.
herbgard
source
Honestly, at first I wanted to to flower seed packets and flower themed tables, but I was told, “Dude’s don’t want flower packets”, fine no flowers, boooo. I also like this idea because if a guest doensn’t like their favor and A) doesn’t take it home, we’ll gladly keep it; or B) throws it away, its kinda green and wont fill up some landfill.

Fast forward a month (or two) and my mom purchases the new Real Simple Weddings 2009 and finds the same idea.
realsimp09
MOB doesn’t remember me telling her about this already and thinks this is a FANTASTIC idea! Ummm, yeah, I know! So we brainstrom idea (no venn diagrams, sorry) and decide we are going to have herb themed tables and give corresponding herb seed packets for those guest. We were going to grow the herbs and give them each a little potted herb, but decided against it when we realize alot of guest would have to transport their herb back after staying the night in a hotel and didn’t want to make their treck back home more difficult worrying about spilling dirt. 

I was still a little miffed about just giving people seeds (and maybe a pot) for our guest to plant themselves when I came across this post and realized I could give our guest one of those little pods, too. Shelly even already figured out the math for me of about .25 cents a favor.
seedpods
Now I just need to figure out a cute way to package them with a little explanation card… which shouldn’t be difficult. YAY!

7 Responses to “Herb Garden”

  1. Mags

    Cute! I love herbs — they’re just so summery to me!

    Congrats on nearly having your favor figured out. You’re leaps and bounds ahead of my on this one!

  2. hisbirdie

    FH and I started brainstroming favors before we were even engaged (like 2 yrs before) so we cheated 😉

  3. Christiane78

    Not sure about your colors, but how about a piece of tulle (maybe light green) tied with a straw ribbon. You know, the stuff that looks like hay and seems so ‘green’ & natural. You could do the explanation card on a sheet of cream colored papyrus or the paper that shows the different colored threads and then hole punch it and string it thru the straw ribbon.

  4. Michelle @ My Wedding Report

    I think this is a great idea! Can’t wait to see how they all turn out.

  5. anoisette

    that’s such a cute idea! i love it! what a great way to incorporate the tables with the favors.

  6. Kat

    Woah! I just noticed there’s a salvia packet in there. I’ve read some funny things about that plant (it’s a legal, natural, SERIOUS hallucinogenic.) Check out “gardening on salvia” on YouTube. It’s both hilarious and scary. 🙂

    (This is Mrs. Cherry Pie, by the way)

  7. hisbirdie

    @Kat – Oh WOW that is hilarious and scary! I don’t think I’ll using that one @ my wedding :-/
    Thanks for the laugh 🙂

Leave a Reply

