First Dance Song

Posted On February 10, 2009

Filed under Wedding Ceremony, Weddings

Comments Dropped leave a response

FH and I have talked on and off about what we want as our first dance song to be and we’ve always agreed it would be something by Michael Buble or Jamie Cullum because we listened to them a lot at the beginning of our relationship and FH says they remind him of me. We even kind of agreed on a song without saying, “yes, that is it, that is our first dance song.” Jamie Cullum’s But For Now.

“But For Now”

Sure I know you’d like to have me
Talk about my future
And a million words or so to fill you in about my past
Have I sisters or a brother
When’s my birthday how’s my mother
Well my dear in time I’ll answer all those things you ask

But for now I’ll just say I love you
Nothing more seems important somehow
And tomorrow can wait come whatever
Let me love you forever but right now
Right now

Some fine day when we go walking
We’ll take time for idle talking
Sharing every feeling as we watch each other smile
I’ll hold your hand you’ll hold my hand
We’ll say things we never had planned
Then we’ll get to know each other in a little while

But for now let me say I love you
Later on there’ll be time for so much more
But for now meaning now and forever
Let me kiss you my darling then once more
Once more

But for now let me say I love you
Later on I must know much more of you
But for now here and now how I love you
As you are in my arms I love you
I love you
I love you

Then the Grammy’s were on Sunday and Justin Timberlake and Al Green performed the Reverend’s Let’s Stay Together and I said, “that would make a really good first dance song,” and FH perked right up… so now this may be our first dance song.

“Let’s Stay Together”

I, I’m so in love with you
Whatever you want to do
Is all right with me
‘Cause you make me feel so brand new
And I want to spend my life with you

Since, since we’ve been together
Loving you forever
Is what I need
Let me be the one you come running to
I’ll never be untrue

Let’s, let’s stay together
Lovin’ you whether, whether
Times are good or bad, happy or sad

Whether times are good or bad, happy or sad

Why somebody, why some people break up
Then turn around and make up
I just can’t see
You’d never do that to me (would you, baby)
Staying around you is all I see
(Here’s what I want us to do)

(repeat to fade):
Let’s, we oughta stay together
Loving you whether, whether
Times are good or bad, happy or sad

What is your first dance song?

Leave a Reply

