As the Dress Twirls – HisBirdie’s Wedding Dress Story (Part 1)

Posted On February 4, 2009

Filed under Wedding Dresses

Comments Dropped 2 responses

I’ve started the search for my wedding dress (I actually thought I had ended it last Saturday, but you’ll have to stay tunned for that). Mama HisBirdie (MOB) and I decided to start our search at David’s Bridal (that’s right I linked to a wiki, not their website muahaha), because I just wanted to see what silhouettes looked best one me and hey if I fell in love with a dress there imagine the money we’d save 🙂

So two weeks ago MOB and I went to our Sunday appointment at DB, and yes I made an appointment and yes, I TOTALLY recommend doing so, especially if you are going on a weekend – three girls came in without appointments after me and were repremanded and had to wait.

Lemme just run you thought my time at DB…
1 – I was told to wait near a podium for my bridal assistant, we’ll call her BA
2 –  BA told me to pick out a pair of shoes, perferably the height I was planning on wearing the day of. This is where I had my first “d’oh” momment because I totally meant to bring my own shoes.
3 – I gave BA the printed pages of the 3 dresses I was told to bring in with an idea of what I was looking for
4 – After finding me a room and 2 of the dresses BA took me a dressing box, sorry it wan’t big enough to call a room, but both MOB and I managed to fit inside 🙂
dbroomcropSorry this was the best I could do alone in my box wait for my mom to bring back more dresses.

5 – I tried on the dresses and then hung out in the room in my bra and panties while my mom went to find BA and more dresses.
6 – BA and MOB came back with about 12 dresses and put them ALL in the box! I found this odd, not only b/c THERE.WAS.NO.ROOM, but because I was told when I made my appointment I was only allowed to have 3 dresses in the box with me at a time.
7 – I tried on ALL those dresses and found two I acutally kinda liked. Now, I say kinda because they were okay, but nothing I would have bought. One dress was the right silhouette but that was it, I hated everything else and the other dress my mom loved, but I knew I could do better somewhere else.

Here is a HORRIBLE picture of me in the second dress crammed in my box 🙂
dbdresscropYes I cut my head off because my mom took the picture when I was in mid smile and I look ridiculous!

* Piece of advise if you’re thinking of going to DB – Make sure to check the box saying you don’t want them to give your name, number and email address out (unless of course you do). I did this and I still received 12 spam emails from DB before I was able to unsubscribe, but at least I didn’t emails and calls from anyone else.

2 Responses to “As the Dress Twirls – HisBirdie’s Wedding Dress Story (Part 1)”

  1. honeymyheart

    whoa it looks really cramped in there. the style of the dress you have on looks cute. i like the subtle pattern.

  2. Mags

    I love that you call it a “dressing box” or just “my box.”

    Looking forward to the next “episode” of How the Dress Twirls!

Leave a Reply

